Saturday, October 30, 2010

Crosstown Rebels

The type of artistic and inspirational label name that offers much more than just the imprint for releasing some smooth techno records over the last 5 years. Founded by Londonite Damian Lazarus in 2004, the label has since released tracks from a host of varied names including Peace Division, Minilogue, Dandy Jack and Rui Da Silva.

Lazarus' own history goes back to a journalistic background with cult magazine Dazed and Confused, before going to do A&R with City Rockers, Crosstown was almost a natural progression after that; "In 2004 I left City Rockers with a plan to start out on my own. Now we have a small but efficient and enthusiastic team of people and an amazing family of artists" explains the chief.

That amazing family of artists could hardly be more en vogue with Dinky, Jamie Jones and Seth Troxler some of the new talent to have progressed into the consciousness of the dance music world in recent times, long after Crosstown had put their faith in them. Troxler's ‘Love Never Sleeps' (October 2008) and Jones' ‘Summertime' (April 2009) are monster productions

Before we start pigeonholing, we'll let Damian Lazurus himself explain the Crosstown sound; "twisted, raw, deep underground techno, house and electro. Crazy future music that works just as well at peak times in large clubs as it does in the early hours in small spaces." Nice one, just about anything then, even including Shackleton (c.2007) with 'Next to Nothing', proof that Crosstown is more just about one sound or style or way of thinking.

Continue reading at |

Crosstown Rebels has a three-disc compilation set for release this fall, simply entitled Crosstown Rebels presents Rebel Rave. Digital release available now:

 Listen/ Buy at Beatport


01. The Royal We - Party Guilt
02. Deniz Kurtel feat. Guests Of Nature - Yeah
03. Seth Troxler - Love Never Sleeps (Gadi Mizrahi Remix)
04. Glimpse - If I Was Your Girl (Simon Baker’s Piano Workout Mix)
05. Dyed Soundorom featuring Aaron Carl - Naked
06. Butane - Inferno Jack (Anja Schneider Remix)
07. Luke Solomon - Demons (Brennan Green Remix)
08. Chic Miniature - Escandalo
09. Mlle Caro & Franck Garcia – Far Away
10. Soul Clap – Action/Satisfaction
11. Maceo Plex - Gravy Train (Nicolas Jaar Remix)

01. Minilogue - Hitchhikers Choice
02. N/A featuring Rosina - Fables And Fairytales (Deniz Kurtel Remix)
03. Peace Division featuring Pleasant Gehman - Voodoo (It's In The Wall)
04. Jennifer Cardini & Shonky - Tuesday Paranoia
05. Jamie Jones - You!
06. Hiem - She’s The One
07. Riz MC - Don't Sleep (Tiefschwarz Remix)
08. Rob Mello - Does It Feel Good Baby? (Vocal Mix)
09. Different Gear – One Thing More
10. Laurent Garnier - Stargazing (Rebel Rave Edit)
11. Shackleton featuring Jackson Del Ray - Next to Nothing

CD3: Mixed by Clive Henry
01. George Thompson - Laid Back Snack Attack (Accapella) / Andre Kraml- Safari
02. Pier Bucci - Polaris / Dan Berkson - Circuits
03. Seth Troxler - Love Never Sleeps (Par Grindvik Remix - Clive Henry & Alex Arnout Re-Edit) / Seth Troxler- Love Never Sleeps (Accapella)
04. The Royal We - Party Guilt (Accapella) / The Royal We - Party Guilt (Matthew Styles Remix)
05. Dyed Soundorom - Beautiful Eva / Deniz Kurtel - Yeah
06. Glimpse - If I Was Your Girl (Tom Demac's Hotel Basement Remix - Clive Henry & Alex Arnout Re Edit)
07. Jamie Jones - Acerola / Jennifer Cardini - Tuesday Paranoia (Accapella)
08. Frankie Flowers - The Key (Clive Henry & Alex Arnout Re Edit) / Different Gear - One Thing More (Accapella)
09. Glimpse - If I was Your Girl (Beats Mix)
10. Peace Division - No Junk No Soul / Butane - Inferno Jack / Different Gear- One More Thing (Accapella) / Seth Troxler - Love Never Sleeps (Strings)
11. Shackleton - Next To Nothing (Exercise One Remix)
12. Dyed Soundorom - Naked / Naked (Accapella Clive Henry & Alex Arnout Re Edit)
13. Jamie Jones - Mexico