Sunday, February 27, 2011

Soul Clap in the mix

Social Experiment 002 Mixed By Soul Clap \\ Various Artists // No.19 Music
Soul Clap should need little introduction to most, having spent the last few years building an unrivalled reputation as one of the most exciting production and Dj duos out there. Recordings for labels such as Wolf + Lamb and Crosstown Rebels have brought them huge critical acclaim whilst their unique re-edits of classic soul, funk and disco have seen them hailed as the new darlings of eclectic balaeric production.

Now one of the most hotly tipped production teams out there has joined forces with a label that has risen to become a leading light in electronic music, No.19 Music. No.19 launched in 2008 and has gone on to become a world leader and flagbearer for the new Canadian electronic music scene. Fronted by Art Department man Jonny White the imprint has championed music from the likes of Jimmy Edgar, Art Department (Jonny White & Kenny Glasgow), DJ Sneak, Osunlade, Stacey Pullen, No Regular Play, Jamie Jones, James Teej and a host of other talented producers. Soul Clap's debut mix compilation album is entitled 'Social Experiment 002' - the second in the "Social Experiment" series released by White and is an incredible genre busting mix featuring tracks from some of the hottest producers out there. The album also boasts an impressive thirteen exclusive tracks appearing for the first time on this superb album. The mix traverses the audio terrain of deep dubby house, hypnotic techy electro, melodic nu-disco and Moroder-esque electronica. It is expertly mixed, perfectly sequenced and has the listener locked in from Craig Richard's experimental remix of Jozif, to the closing bar of "Sleepy & Boo" - Art Department & Soul Clap's sublime and blissful collaborative venture into the world of dubstep. The tracklist contain music from artists such as Lee Foss, Art Department ft Seth Troxler, Jamie Jones, Gadi Mizrahi, Justin Drake, Jozif, Craig Richards, James Teej, Jimmy Edgar, SECT,├ŐRobert James & Burnski, Deniz Kurtel as well as Soul Clap themselves and a host of No.19's finest producers. Amongst the endless list of highlights is Soul Clap's exclusive - Fried Chicken, a sure fire bomb when it's released, the highly anticipated next single from Art Department - "Living The Life" and the subtle yet anthemic percussive house of Teeloo's "Soo Ooh", sure to be a highlight for the Dennis Ferrers of the world. However to suggest that any particular track outweighs the contribution of others would be to do disservice to the incredible quality of content and the obvious A&R that has been put into this mix. It is a truly outstanding selection of some of the best electronic music out there right now. Set for release in February 2011 this has got to be an early contender for 'compilation of the year' and will certainly give months of listening pleasure to any and all who cross its path. The mix compilation will also be followed up with an unmixed album at a later date, allowing everyone to get their hands on some of these exclusive gems. All Hail Soul Clap and the good people of No.19 Music…
buy at KOMPAKT

Featuring: Jonny White // James Teej // Justin Drake // Jozif // Gadi Mizrahi // Soho 808 // Benoit // Sergio // Tanner Ross Ft. Flo Night // Puente // Rosch // Sect // Michael J Collins // Nightplane // Jimmy Edgar // No Regular Play // Soul Clap // Miguel Campbell // Lee Foss // Teeloo // Art Department // Soul Clap "" Exclusive // Deniz Kurtel // Art Department Ft. Seth Troxler // Robert James // Burnski